Translation memory settings while creating a project


Setting Up Translation Memories

A translation memory (TM) is a database that stores translations of your texts from one source language into one or several target languages. This resource is always used when texts are translated in the system. It is handier to create and use separate TMs for different clients and topics. In this case, when creating a project, you can easily select the best translation memory - and then the system will automatically offer a saved translation whenever it detects text segments similar to those which you have translated previously.

Automatic Translation Memory Setup

When a project is created, Smartcat sets up translation memories automatically.

If you have not yet created any translation memories in the system, a new TM will be created. Its name will reflect the values of the following parameters: language pair, client, subject, and project group. This TM will become the main TM and acquire the Write permissions.

When uploading a TMX file to a project, you can define its client, project group, and subject. The system then creates a TM based on this file and enables it on the project. All the parameters that you provided when uploading the TMX file will be saved in the newly created TM. In future, if you specify a client, project group, or subject for a new project, the system will enable a previously created TM with the identical value of at least one of these parameters. As a result, a relevant TM will be enabled on the new project without any manual setup required.

If more than one previously created TM with identical parameters exists, all of them will be enabled. The TM with the largest number of identical parameters will become the main TM and acquire the Write permissions. The other automatically enabled TMs will be read-only. This allows a translator to use not only the most closely related TM, but also the more general ones.

In addition, if a TM with identical parameters but the inverted language pair is found, the system will also automatically enable it on the project.  

For the comprehensive details of each TM enabled on the project, refer to the Translation Memories grid in the Linguistic Assets tab.

TM_01.png

Manual Translation Memory Setup

You can change TM settings on the Translation Memory tab in the Advanced Settings.

advanced-translation-memory-settings-01.png

Changing an Automatically Created TM

If you have uploaded a TMX file to a project, you can change this TM's settings. To do this, hover the cursor over the TM in the Uploaded Translation Memories area and click the pencil icon.

TM_settings_01.png

You can change the name of the new translation memory, add target languages, select a client, project group or topic, and specify whether matches should be searched taking adjacent segments into account (in other words, whether to use the context check).

advanced-translation-memory-settings-02.png

After configuring the TM, click Save.

Translation Memory Match Searching.

When the executor is working with the document, the system compares each sentence with those that were translated earlier and saved in the connected translation memory. The system offers translation options that match the current segment by 75% or more by Default. You can choose a higher threshold — then the matches will be more accurate, but there will be less options.
If you want to change the threshold for matches search, select the translation memory and specify a different value in the Minimum percentage of matches field.

Screenshot_at_______21_19-59-01.jpg

 The threshold value can be different for each TM.

Enabling a Previously Created TM

If you wish to enable a TM that you've already created in Smartcat on a new project, press the Select existing TM menu.

advanced-translation-memory-settings-03.png

In the window that opens, you will see a list of TMs matching the language pair of your project. You can filter TMs by client, project group and topic.

advanced-translation-memory-settings-04.png

After selecting the TMs, click Add.

Creating a TM

To create a TM and enable it on a project, press the Create new TM menu.

advanced-translation-memory-settings-03.png

The new TM will appear in the New Translation Memory area. To change the settings of this TM, hover the cursor over it and click the pencil icon.

TM_settings_01.png

You can change the name of the new translation memory, add target languages, select a client, project group or topic, and specify whether matches should be searched taking adjacent segments into account (in other words, whether to use the context check).

TM_settings_02.png

After configuring the TM, click Save.

Selecting a TM for New Translations

Several TMs can be enabled on a project. You can save the new translations generated in the project in one of the TMs already being used in the project. You can select which TM you want to record the new translations into. To do this, select a translation memory and click Write.

advanced-translation-memory-settings-05.png

Disabling a TM

To disable a translation memory being used on the project, hover the cursor over it and click the cross.

TM_settings_03.png

To learn more about the translation memory, see Creating a Translation Memory.

For details about using translation memories when working with a text see Translation Memory Matches.

Was this helpful?

66

Similar articles:

    No related articles